The National League for Democracy (NLD)

The National League for Democracy (NLD) is a democratic socialistic-liberal Burmese political party, founded on 27 September 1988. Special Honorary President of the Socialist International and Nobel Peace Prize laureate Aung San Suu Kyi serves as its General Secretary. The party won a substantial parliamentary majority in the 1990 Burmese general election, but the ruling military junta refused to recognize the result.

NLD Party

The NLD was formed in the aftermath of the 8888 Uprising, a series of protests in favour of democracy that took place in 1988 and was ended when the military took control of the country in a coup. It formed under the leadership of Aung San Suu Kyi, daughter of Aung San, a pivotal figure in the Burmese independence movement of the 1940s.

Aung San Su Kyi

Aung San Suu Kyi, born 19 June 1945 is a Burmese opposition politician and chairperson of the National League for Democracy (NLD) in Burma. In the 1990 general election, the NLD won 59% of the national votes and 81% (392 of 485) of the seats in Parliament. She had, however, already been detained under house arrest before the elections.

Vote NLD

“The NLD has been trying to build a real federal union for 30 years, but we haven’t reached our goal yet,” said Aung San Suu Kyi. “We believe that we can win with the support and force of people. The important thing right now is that people have a chance to vote and are able to go to vote on Election Day.” This is the time to change, let’s vote NLD.

Disclaimer: This is an unofficial website of National League for Democracy (NLD Burma) by an individual group of people who genuinely love & heartily appreciate NLD & Mother Su.